Unit 12

Introduction

The things that I want to cover with this unit and the question that I want to answer is “Do you need the imagination to be a concept artist?” this will help me in the future with creating ideas and envisioning of other people’s ideas. the way that i am going to answer the question is going through asking some people in the field and looking through videos that I chosen specific made for making brainstorming but first, I will go through the ways that brainstorm. The thing that im going to see if I answered the question well will be me trying to answer it now like hypothesis, the answer that I have now is yes you need imagination but the real skill you need is putting that image on to paper or words and explaining how you got to the final project and imagination is needed for each of these steps.

The methods that I use to brainstorm

The method that I use to brainstorm with different ideas is mind mapping I think that this best for me because I can see all the ideas that I have and the rest of the team and for starting off drawings would be block-outs because it sets out everything and I know what I have to do.

The methods that I used to come up completely new ideas

The ways that I brainstorm and gather new ideas is through putting ideas onto a piece of paper like MASH a bit like you have this item or creature then you unfold the paper then you have a completely new idea this way can be flawed like this might not get a completely sensible idea or an exploitable idea.

My thoughts on my methods

I think that my methods are quite good for me and maybe terrible for other people but it helps me gather my thoughts and see where im going with the project. The things that are wrong with my methods that they are quite one-sided for my skills and sometimes they can lead to a blank mind which some methods can lead to better ideas like the methods below.

The videos and articles and what I think about

(Taylor, 2016)

I think that this good video to know how to set out a session for the brainstorming like that everyone should know what is going before they get in there like knowing the problem and everyone having a marker pen so they can note down their ideas. I think that the best thing that he said was the prioritise because that is the easiest way to see which ideas are better.

(Kesh, 2019)

I think that this great video on how an artist gets into a mindset and how he sees his own art and I love that method draw something that interests you and I have never thought about that and it could be used for creative work like modelling and concept art. another thing that he said is that something that makes an artist better is not their technique it is how they approach it which gives me a chance. another thing that this video has taught me is to put more thought in the colour of the said project because there is already known colours that go together that is something that this video has taught me. the method that I stick too when drawing would be block-outs and putting notes everywhere and I think that this may have changed my way of doing it.

dark yellow dot, 2020.

I think explaining it is very close brainstorming because to an extent you have got to explain what you see in your head to paper so I see these as the same because you have to have the words to get your ideas out there.

After reading the whole blog the things that I have taken away are pretty interesting I don’t think that this will have changed my explaining what I’m doing with the creation of my work but this has given me a new insight on how other people will see my work and what I have to do reach that level of though thought with the explaining.

The things that I have learnt from this blog is that you should put a story behind the art/project this makes it easier because it makes to warp your head around the ideas that surround it and other things this makes it easier to explain to people that what to hear about your art rather just having a model with no story. another thing is putting yourself in the shoes of the viewer this helps you to explain to the people what your art is about.

Has this changed my method?

This hasn’t changed the ways that I gather ideas but the way that I’m explaining the art and how I commission the art and how I work with artists and how I speak with them. like explaining with the story will make it so easy and it will give a picture in their head because art is subjective and different to everyone.

Book

This book is about gathering idea but in a cool and interesting way and it has some great illustrations. the way it’s set out is like a video game and you have to gather all the equipment to hunt for this killer idea I really like this because it’s different and it really grabs my attention. with the interviews, I’m going to stick Marina Munn, Carla Adams and Vince Frost because they all have to do with art and getting ideas for that specific area.

The book’s ideas

This page is one my favourites in the book because it’s explaining the ways to come up with ideas and it’s explaining them as a survival kit like a machete is perseverance and this all adds up to an idea that can be used I really like this way of thinking its more interesting than just saying these are the 18 things that you need for an idea I will probably continue this way of thinking because of its more clear way on coming up with an idea.

The second page is the interview with an illustrator Marina Muun the page covers a lot about this artist like there is question “best advice received ” which she answered with “work hard and be nice to people” which I think is pretty good advice and I live by it too but really that’s the best you have ever got, other questions like “where have you come from. where are you now?” which was answered simply lives in London now moved there 7 years ago from Bulgaria” the one question that I found interesting is “what happens if you get stuck ?” the answer that she gave was interesting because she does something else like go for a walk which I think I’m going to try if I get near burnt-out I find this interesting because it rarely I get burnt out but when I do I just want to rest and do very little this may be something I try the reason is that it will help/maybe give inspiration.

The third page is another interview with artist Carla Adams this is like the other page for the interview I really like her work because it’s almost disturbing but if you look from a different angle you find a quite interesting painting or knitting. “your art is very tactile. but a lot of your subjects come from the impersonal online world?” this question sparked my curiosity because at the start didn’t actually know what meant but reading through it I understood but I like is she completely disagreed with the question. “I don’t think that the internet is impersonal at all” This comment is something that I agree with because there are so many ways you can communicate over the internet and its so easy to find people with the same interests as you. Another reason that her work isn’t impersonal “I am making the work about those intimate encounters” which she has ok internet dating sites which I can see within her work a little bit but with the examples that I see is more repulsed from the art. Then the question goes to speak on about she preferring them 1 on 1 encounter that you can have on the internet and then talking about the tactility of phones. Another question that I like in here is “if you get stuck, how do you keep going?” the things that im getting with the question simply put is take rest or”fresh” them eyes but the thing that I liked was this “eyes are all you need for work” this makes me think if you need is your eyes this makes me want to take me to work another way what I mean is focus on the visuals, I think that this was the most insightful for my question and the best artist in the book and she seems to be the most interesting to me.

Is it better?

I think that this book is a great resource for thinking about getting ideas and gathering ideas because it definitely gives a great process to get some ideas. The illustrations also make it more interesting than just a normal book with no drawings and like the fact that it’s very styled and it’s very creepy. another thing about this book that I need to put more detail into looking at is getting the right mindset for creating an idea.

Has it changed the way I work?

I don’t think that it has changed the way that I brainstorm but it definitely changed the mindset that I have for creating the ideas. when now I go into a brainstorm I’m going to set out the ideas that I want get and everything that goes into them like the attitude that I have to get them, which I think this will make better ideas at the same time. The interview that was made was insightful especially the advice bits because I think that was the almost the best part “making something is better than making nothing” this was from Carla Adams which advice this something that I really like and something that I might stick by like trying is always best thing even the final thing does look not great you’ve still tried and built on top of it.

How this went and conclusion

I think that this went well I managed to get a lot of detail in and I think that research that I used was some good ones because they were they gave a ton of insight to the answering the question that was set at the start of this post. I think that best of this post was the book that Lee gave me because it’s better to have something physically in my hands and it’s actually a good resource for what I want for this essay. I think the most problems that I had was to do with the website because that was extremely focused on the part of art that I wasn’t trying to explain like the things in an art gallery that honestly no one gets the things that I was trying to focus on was game art and concept art. After all, that’s dealing with the question directly I think that could have been better. The reason that I did this on concept art is because of the fact that concept artists are one of the greatest pathways to become an art director or lead artist for games depending on if you go down the route for your art style and im also fascinated by them because they have almost all creative output for the project.

Did I answer the question?

“Do you need the imagination to be a concept artist?” this is the question that I had to answer using the research and essay looking back I think that I got clouded by some unhelpful research which isn’t good but about this question, I think that you do need a ton of creativity for that job. the things that I think that can answer the question is that you need a ton of things in check to become a great concept artist because you need to be able to explain what you going for and the mindset when going into it because there is more to it than just that being creative I am not saying that creativity its huge part of it, I think that it is equilibrium between creativity, mindset and good communication this makes a great concept artist in my mind because it covering every side of the process of making doing concept art so I think that I answered the question and also expanded on it. the way that I see it is that the is that you need imagination to create the material that comes valuable but then concept artist has to visualize that idea and make it what they want, what i meant by that is concept artists are important for new creation and this where the innovation is create and they can add on to it so final thoughts do you need creativity to be a concept artist? yes you do because they are visualizing that idea and that’s also where innovation comes from.

bibliography

wordcount

2219 not counting the bib

Leave a comment