VFX ideas (individual) and group

Introduction

This post is for creating individual ideas before being put into a team, the title that we going to use or have been given is “the truth is out there” this can be expanded anyway I want. The aim of this post is to create a solid storyboard using photoshop or a different software but first, we will create a mind map on general ideas that I have to do with the title of “truth is out there”.

Ideas that I want look at further

This below is the mind map that I create to show my ideas and the different themes that I could look at with the idea like a horror sci-fi this is an example at the moment because these have been done a lot together. this time around I wants to do something completely different meaning that I will look into more action-based ideas because I think action trailers are way more fun because they get you more hyped.

The ideas that I want to look further into

The ideas that I have are mostly horror-themed which isn’t bad but I want to something more action-based like the plane crash also that is my favourite idea because its something different for me which means that im going to push this idea into the group. Another idea that isn’t that bad is a hero journey’s sort of thing because you can do anything with this but I think that I’m going to stick with the plane crash. Choosing that idea probably either that I’m going to model a plane or crash site which doesn’t sound that bad but ill probably improve my texturing skills.

Group Ideas

This is the mind map that I created with the team which is Aaron b and Kyle which I’m very excited to work with because I have not yet worked with Aaron and working with Kyle is always fun. the ideas that they had was very interesting and they added to my idea, the idea that Kyle was alternate dimensions and Aaron’s idea was an underwater theme like spooky deep the final idea that we going with is all of them really so my idea is that the intro that brings in everything then Aaron leads to Kyle’s ideas which is the montage meaning that Aaron’s is the build-up.

The idea in detail in my head

this is from my head at this point which means that the details could be a bit different. it starts off with very quick clips of plane smoke in distance and when it cuts to black you hear screaming and plane crash sounds and maybe the character asks a question like “how did I survive that?” Then that fades to black then you pan around this island giving a sense of the environment the sounds that I would put around here would schizophrenic whispers because we are making the main character insane. then show a mysterious research base that is underwater so imagine a lot of bubble sounds and underwater sound and maybe a slight wind this makes it feel quite alone. then the end part would be focusing on the research base and what they were and this mysterious portal appears. I see the trailer ending in two really good ways in my opinion= the camera zooms on the portal and you hear whispers then intensify then a hand reaches out or we go through and we are back in the plane then it cuts black then you plane crashes the no sound completely.

Idea as a team

The idea is going to stay the same and I was right on point with the idea the things that are going change is the ending because the team prefers the one with the hand or something else not yet final. the name of the character is Mr Dr Steve we going to try to have a level of come “the long son of Mr bean can’t cope with his dad’s death goes insane” this is the level of comedy that we are going for which I think it is possible. I don’t think that this shown much but maybe just implied.

Conflict Ideas

how did this plane crash? and why is this portal here? are probably going to be the main ideas because I think if we added more there would be too much going on for the viewer to concentrate and possibly we’re going to make the portal the main focus because I think that it would be easy to surround the whole point of the trailer to show the plane crash and then the process of going underwater which at this point I don’t know how we are going to do this. the conflict is going to the mystery around this portal which I think will be interesting and maybe we put in a creature that you see part of not fully.

Environment

The main environment that we going for going to be underwater I’m pretty sure maybe in a science base that is abandoned. the environment that I have to work on is an island which the plane has crashed into this is how our character makes it to a portal like it’s under this forgotten island I think this how it’s going to work.

Safely landed near the island... A plane crashed last week on take off.  Everybody was safe) #taffin #taffinjewelry #taffinjewellery… | Private plane,  Island, Crash
(Pinterest, 2016)

Sound Ideas

The sounds ideas that I have been relating to the environment because it’s in the early idea processes right now. The sounds that I can think of right now would be bubbles, fire, sea and plane crash which could use any type of crash but I would probably add a lot of spacing because the crashes so it makes it feels like medium sort of plane but right now, I prefer the idea of a smaller plane because I think that will be easier and you won’t have to answer the question of why he’s on his own. I don’t think that the character will speak but I think that it is possible to make him speak which means that we are going have to learn lip-syncing.

(White Noise Soundscapes, 2017)

Themes

The themes that we going to have is Submechanophobia which is the phobia of submerged machines this was brought by Aaron which I think that it looks quite disturbed which I like for the trailer. In my bit, my trailer is mostly going to be the crash site on an island in the open water this leads me to think that one of us will have to animate water which I don’t know how to do but I’m willing to learn.

submechanophobia Instagram posts (photos and videos) - Picuki.com
(picuki.com, n.d.)

Monologue

I’m on the fence about having a monologue throughout the trailer because I think that it will work at the start where everything is quite bare and you’re building up to the montage. I really want to put my voice in the trailer somewhere but I don’t if I should because at this point we are only having one character making either a godly voice or the character the monologue will be there to ask the questions for example “what am I doing here?”

Conclusion

I can’t wait to continue working on this idea because its a completely new idea and the people that I’m working with could definitely bring it to life. The aim was to create a storyboard that wasn’t met but we are doing that next the main thing that we did was come up with all of the details for the idea and expand on our own idea mine was the plane crash. The roles that I got given, I’m actually happy with because I asked from the start that I wanted to do sound design and video editing but we all individually editing our bit so win-win.

Very early storyboard

early story board

bibliography

Leave a comment